Since 1999, the premier source for coaching job information

Photos: Illinois' new unis
Luther staff issues a challenge
Nebraska's top recruiting tool?

FCS unveils new logo for a new era

This is a time of transition for the Football Championship Subdivision. After a baker's dozen years in Chattanooga, the FCS Championship moved to FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Texas, in 2011. After years at 16 teams, the FCS playoffs moved to a 20-team field in 2010 and will expand again to 24 in 2013.

Like most sports, FCS football followed national demographics and was a sport decidedly dominated by teams from the Eastern portion of the United States. From the Division I split in 1978 until 2009, only Boise State (1980), Idaho State (198) and Montana (1995 and 2001) broke through for the western side of the map to win a national title. But since 2010, the three FCS champions have been Eastern Washington, North Dakota State and North Dakota State again in 2012. Though three-quarters of FCS programs still reside in the East, the balance of power figures to swing further west with programs like Appalachian State, Georgia Southern and Old Dominion on their way to FBS.

Oh, and there is that little matter of FBS scheduling and the possibility of that revenue stream going away, led by the Big Ten. 

With all that said, how about a new logo? The NCAA has branded the 13-conference, 127-team division with its own stand-alone logo. Make sure you notice the Division I text above "FCS".

FCS logo

Author: Zach Barnett
Zach Barnett is a native of Denton, Texas and a graduate of the University of Texas. He joined FootballScoop in 2012 after two years at the National Football Foundation. His hobbies include watching college football, reading about college football and writing about college football.